Christian Favre | Biography
1821
page-template-default,page,page-id-1821,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-11.0,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

Biography

Christian Favre, born on January 23, 1955 in Lausanne, is a piano soloist and chamber musician, composer, and Swiss professor.

Christian Favre completed his studies at the Conservatory of his hometown with Francesco Zaza. In 1975, he won a first prize of piano virtuosity with honors under the direction of Louis Hiltbrand. Then, he perfected his craft with Karl Engel in Hanover where he obtained a soloist diploma in 1978.

Christian Favre also received instructions from Stefan Askenase in Bonn, from Guido Agosti in Siena, and from Nikita Magaloff in Montreux.

Christian Favre has performed in recitals, in chamber music, and with orchestras. He plays under the direction of Armin Jordan, Jesús López Cobos, Franz Welser-Möst, Marius Constant, Marcello Viotti, Tibor Varga, Christian Zacharias, etc. Very committed to establishing links between music, poetry, and literature, Christian Favre has partnered with comedians such as Richard Vachoux, Corine Coderey, Nicolas Rinuy, and Anna Pieri for poetry recitals on Franz Liszt/ Victor Hugo, Robert Schumann/ E. T. A. Hoffmann, Maurice Ravel/ Aloysius Bertrand, and Frédéric Chopin/ George Sand. He has given, since the beginning of his career, concerts in numerous cities in Europe. An avid chamber music lover, he has played notably with violinists Jean Jaquerod, Pierre Amoyal, Tedi Papavrami, Gilles Colliard, Gyula Stuller, and Raphaël Oleg; with violist Christoph Schiller; with cellists Martina Schucan, François Guye, Wen-Sinn Yang, Thomas Demenga, and Mark Drobinsky; with pianists Martha Argerich and Alexandre Rabinovitch; with the Munich String Trio, the Raymond Quartet, the Amati Quartet, the Sine Nomine Quartet, and the Schumann Quartet of which he is the resident pianist.

Christian Favre possesses an extensive discography and has taken part in many radio and television shows.

Christian Favre wrote a Requiem for choir, soloists, and orchestra in March of 2008 in Buenos Aires with the Philharmonic Orchestra of Buenos Aireas, led by Facundo Agudin. He is the author of several works of chamber music that he performs in public with musicians Tedi Papavrami, Gilles Colliard, François Guye, Denitsa Kazakova, Stefan Rusiecki, as well as the Shumann Quartet. Some of these works were included in a CD produced by the DORON music label. His transcriptions for voice and piano quartet of the “Prelude and Death of Isolde,” the “Wesendonck-Lieder” of Richard Wagner and of the “Rückert –Lieder” of Gustav Mahler have been performed several times in Switzerland, France, and Spain by operate singer Dame Felicity Lott and the Schumann Quartet. In 2007, the Aeon company produced a CD of these transcripts, using the same performers.

Alongside these activities, Christian Favre teaches at the Haute École de musique de Lausanne (HEMU) and regularly teaches Master classes in Switzerland and abroad. He is the Artistic Director and founder of the and gave courses teaching the “Printemps de Romainmôtier:” He also teaches courses at the Biel International Summer Academy.

Among the many students whom he has trained, we can mention, among others, Cédric Pescia, Jean-Selim Abdelmoula, Christian Chamorel, Mark Farago, Mauro lo Conte, Vittorio Forte, Sylvain Viredaz, Léonie Renaud, Lucas Buclin, Lionel Monnet, Magali Bourquin, Virginie Falquet, Antoine Rebstein, and Yukiko Tanaka.

Christian Favre avec Francesco Zaza Christian Favre and Francesco Zaza

Christian Favre avec Nikita Magaloff Christian Favre and Nikita Magaloff

Christian Favre avec Karl EngelChristian Favre and Karl Engel

Christian Favre | Biographie
125
page-template-default,page,page-id-125,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-11.0,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

Biographie

Christian Favre, né le 23 janvier 1955 à Lausanne, est un pianiste soliste et chambriste, compositeur et professeur suisse.

Il fait ses études au Conservatoire de sa ville natale avec Francesco Zaza. En 1975, il y remporte un premier prix de virtuosité de piano avec félicitations du jury sous la direction de Louis Hiltbrand. Il se perfectionne avec Karl Engel à la Musikhochschule de Hanovre où il obtient un diplôme de soliste en 1978.

Il a également bénéficié de l’enseignement de Stefan Askenase à Bonn, de Guido Agosti à Sienne et de Nikita Magaloff à Montreux.

Christian Favre se produit en récital, en musique de chambre et avec orchestres. Il joue sous la direction d’Armin Jordan, Jesús López Cobos, Franz Welser-Möst, Marius Constant, Marcello Viotti, Tibor Varga, Christian Zacharias, etc. Très soucieux d’établir des liens entre la musique, la poésie et la littérature, Christian Favre s’associe avec des comédiens tels que Richard Vachoux, Corine Coderey, Nicolas Rinuy, Anna Pieri, pour des récitals poétiques autour de : Franz Liszt/Victor Hugo, Robert Schumann/E. T. A. Hoffmann, Maurice Ravel/Aloysius Bertrand, Frédéric Chopin/George Sand. Il donne, depuis le début de sa carrière, des concerts dans un très grand nombre de villes européennes. Passionné musique de chambre, il joue notamment avec les violonistes Jean Jaquerod, Pierre Amoyal, Tedi Papavrami, Gilles Colliard, Gyula Stuller, Raphaël Oleg, Denitsa Kazakova et Frédéric Angleraux, l’altiste Christoph Schiller, les violoncellistes Martina Schucan, François Guye, Wen-Sinn Yang, Thomas Demenga et Mark Drobinsky, les pianistes Martha Argerich, Alexandre Rabinovitch, Brigitte Meyer, Jean-François Antonioli, Paul Coker et Marc Pantillon, le trio à cordes de Munich, le Quatuor Raymond, le Quatuor Amati, le Quatuor Sine Nomine ainsi que le Quatuor Schumann dont il est le pianiste attitré.

Christian Favre a réalisé une importante discographie et participé à de nombreuses émissions de radio et de télévision.

Il a composé un Requiem pour chœur, solistes et orchestre créé en mars 2008 à Buenos Aires avec l’Orchestre Filarmónica de Buenos Aires dirigé par Facundo Agudin. Il est l’auteur de plusieurs œuvres de musique de chambre qu’il interprète en public avec les musiciens, Tedi Papavrami, Gilles Colliard, François Guye, Denitsa Kazakova, Stefan Rusiecki, ainsi que le Quatuor Schumann. Certaines de ces œuvres ont fait l’objet d’un CD produit par le label DORON music. Ses transcriptions pour voix et quatuor avec piano du « Prélude et Mort d’Isolde », des Wesendonck-Lieder » de Richard Wagner et des « Rückert -Lieder de Gustav Mahler ont été interprétées à plusieurs reprises en Suisse, en France et en Espagne par la cantatrice Dame Felicity Lott et le Quatuor Schumann. En 2007, la firme aeon a réalisé un CD de ces transcriptions avec les mêmes interprètes.

Parallèlement à ces activités, Christian Favre enseigne à la Haute École de musique de Lausanne (HEMU) et donne régulièrement des master classes en Suisse et à l’étranger. Il est directeur artistique et fondateur du Concours d’Interprétation Musicale de Lausanne et a animé les cours d’interprétation du « Printemps de Romainmôtier ». Il donne aussi des cours d’interprétation à l’Académie d’été internationale Bienne.

Parmi les nombreux élèves qu’il a formé, nous pouvons citer, entre autres, Cédric Pescia, Jean-Selim Abdelmoula, Christian Chamorel, Mark Farago, Mauro lo Conte, Vittorio Forte, Sylvain Viredaz, Guy-François Leuenberger, Léonie Renaud, Lucas Buclin, Lionel Monnet, Magali Bourquin, Virginie Falquet, Antoine Rebstein, Yukiko Tanaka.

Christian Favre avec Francesco Zaza Christian Favre avec Francesco Zaza

Christian Favre avec Nikita Magaloff Christian Favre avec Nikita Magaloff

Christian Favre avec Karl EngelChristian Favre avec Karl Engel